The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager:

“Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

Write a response in which you examine the argument’s unstated assumptions, making sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The email from Human Resourse Manager looks reasonable at first glance but when I scrutinize the statements it has rife of holes and assumptions which could be wrong. The argument would be on doubt unless all of the assumptions couled be supported approporiately. The statement two different organizations which are not necessarily the same conditions, also it is possible that the result of the survey was affeted by other parameters and adultrate the results.

The frist provided evidence by statement is about a survey in Tobor Technologies. This survey result says that 15 percent of employee sick day is because of mental problem but it does not provide any detail evidence. It is possible that the employee use that to make an execuse to leave the office for personal jobs or other activities. Also, it does not provide details about different departments that help us to distinguish other parameters. In order to strengthen the statement, it suggests that the writer provide any additional report to make clear the initial situations of the organization.

Another hole in the arsument is that Human Resorce Manager assumes that the situation of two companies are the same and the method which used in Tobor effectively could be beneficial in Droid Crop. There is not any evidences about type or these two companies ranging from type of work, working time to health program, difficulty of jobs. So, any generalization for these two organization not necessary effective. For example, if Tobor's employees work in the office but Droid's workers should work in the factory and under pressure, the resut of performing a method for both of them could be completely different. The writer could provide some additional facts to show these two organization are similar to some extent and support his idea.

Finally, even if two organization are the same and the survey is prepared scientificly, the reduction in the rate of mental problem could have different causes that may not considered in the argument. For example, the company may provide some sport program or special vacation and these activities lead to decline in mental illness. The argument could provide a list of other actions that happened during last year and study each of them on the result to improve cogency of the statement.

In conclusion, although the statement provide attractive result and suggest some actions that may help the company and employees, the writer could not provide persuasive evidences and details to ensure the result of the suggestion