The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument recommends to increase the time of weather and local news to attract more viewer and get more adevertisments to increase the revenue. Although the author recommendation looks reliable at first glance, when we delve deeper into the argument it is rife of problems and fallacys. The author does not consider of other possibilities that may happen which I will explain three of them now.

First of all, the writer alleges that increasing time of national news and decreasing time of local news and weather is the main reason of decline in the viewers of the television while he cannot present any persuasive evidence for that or do not consider other possibilities. Maybe this changing trend is for all of the TV with any programs and it is not for changing in a special one. For examlpe, it might because of advance in social network that provide a wide variety of programs in any time that the viwers want and they viwers would had change their life styles.

Anothe assumption of the author consider is that complains of viewers is a reason for dissatisfing of them while the evidence who presents is not cogent. The author does not provide any statistical data about the number of complains and number of individul persons who complain. Maybe, just ten peaple complain hundereds times which it does not shows the interest of all viewers. Even the complains are real, the author does not mention any ting in the complains that show they want a decrease in the international news. They may just want TV to add local news and wheather without eliminating international news.

Even if the decrease of the viewer is due to the changing the programs and the complains show the real ideas of people, decrease in advertising may have other possibility that the author does not survey them. For example, it could be because of a discount which another television devote to the companies and they decide to transfer their advertising to other television. Anothe rpossibilities is that, since social media improved, companies prefer to advertise in that area.

To sterngthen the argument, the authoe could hold a comprehensive survey and study all of the possibilities with scientific methods.

In conclusion, though the argument looks reasonable and try to suggest a way to improve revene, it fails to provide convincing evidence to persuasive the reader and additional survey and information looks necessary.