Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In dev

Some people have always supported reasonable programs while some claim idealistic programs are much more successful for political issues. Both groups present their reasons which look cogent at the first glance. However, I strongly agree with the former idea and support a reasonable consensus, and I will explain my reasons.

First of all, I believe the program not only should be reasonable but also provides detail of the path for achievement. Without this condition, aware people would not find it persuasive. In a vigilant society, politicians avoid populistic ideas and try to present a program that is completely studied and designed. For instance, an economic thriving program in a developing country should precisely explain in detail the cost of the program, the origin that the fund would be supplied, and each step to achieve their goals. Without such a detailed program, it would not assure folks to support it.

Moreover, for election and political party competition, reasonable programs are much defensible in comparison with an idealistic plan. A reasonable consensus is designed precisely and politicians could explain each part and present them cogently. In election competition, when opposers attack the other programs, a politician with a reasonable program remains in a steady position, while a politician with an idealistic program may find his or her position vulnerable. Besides, idealistic programs seem dishonest, because politicians also know that it is impossible to achieve the proposed goals at least in short term. So, presenting such a program is like defraud people and their supporters.

On the other hand, some people maintain providing an idealistic program can courage people to work harder for that purpose. For instance, a program that depicts a utopia with better traffic conditions, excellent health facilities, and a low unemployment rate is more encouraging than a plan that just focuses on unemployment. Although the reasons that supporters of idealistic programs present look cogent at first glance, I could not accept them. Because, when that politician fails to achieve supposed goals, people would be disappointed and accordingly, they would not accept the politicians' ideas anymore.

In conclusion, though elusive ideal programs may make happy people and persuade them to hard-working in a short time, I strongly believe reasonable programs will work efficiently in long term and are more honest.