It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If behaviors related to adhering to their belief infringe on human rights, sticking to one’s purpose is detrimental to society. To elaborate, IS members are jihadists, who adhere to an extreme interpretation of Sunni Islam and consider themselves the only true believer. They hold that the rest of the world is made up of unbelievers, who seek to destroy Islam, Justifying attacks against other Muslims and non-Muslims alike. They mercilessly have murdered people who are against their belief or sometimes they just killed innocent people without manifest reasons. This brutal activity is caused by adhering to the thought that their belief is only the truth. If they could respect other believers, they would not suppress other believers brutally. When his belief is harmful to human rights, it would be beneficial to give up one’s post on other people.

When his or her belief supports and protects human rights, people should not compromise their beliefs. For example, Gandhi was a leader of the Indian independence movement against British rule. Employing nonviolent civil disobedience, Gandhi led India to independence and inspired movements for civil rights and freedom across the world. If he gave up and compromised with the British government and enjoyed his convenient life, he could not lead the independence of India and influence the world. As this example shows, to advocate human rights, a person should hold on his or her belief.

Moreover, even though it sticks to own creed mars human rights to some degree, if it benefits whole society, a person should hold to his or her opinion. For example, Margaret Thatcher, who was the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom in 20th, emphasized deregulation, flexible labor markets, the privatization of state-owned companies, and reduction of the welfare. Many people resisted her policy to cut the welfare, she persisted on her philosophy. As a result of her policy, United Kingdom could escape from long and deep economic depression. Although her policy had harmed people in part because many people had suffered from reduced welfare and easy dismissal due to the flexible labor markets, it salvaged whole society from disastrous hire. Considering benefits to whole society by sacrificing some people, a leader should insist his or her belief if the leader can judge the current situation well.