Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

An argument is cogent if you could provide clear evidences for opposers and change their minds because opposers have several reasons to oppose and can provide counterexamples to win in the argument or challenge the argument's ideas. So, form my point of view, if the argument could defeat them, therefore, it looks persuasive and it can conclude it provide cogent reasons.

The most important reason to accept this claim is that opposers have compeletly different view from the author and advocators so they think differently to the issue and provide various reasons. In order to test an argument, the reasons of the opposite side should be answered and provide cogent reasons to refute them. Opposers may challenge basic assumptions of discussion and author should defend his basic consepts which help him to remove some assumptions that are not necessary true and present some additional assumptions to link the idea to conclusion.

Secondly, by examining the argument with opposite critics, it provides a position to evaluate the depth of the reasons which is provided. For example, some reasons may be cogent for advocators in president election meeting but when two candidate discuss togheter, they can find rife of holes in eachothers' ideas that can broden the horizen of people and examine the cogency of their resons.

On the other hand, some believe that aforementioned process is not necessary true because some opposers are dogmatic and do not like to hear others' opinions and just try to defend their ideas without providing reliable causes, it is maybe because of some hidden benefits for them. Therefore, the argument could not convince these kind of people even it can provide cogent reasons and evidences. Likewise, examining the argument with gullible individuals can lead to misunderstanding the cogency of the reasons, since naives can easily be persuaded by even unreliable reasons.

In conclusion, I reckon, although changing the idea of the oppsers is good signal for cogent argument, in fact it is necessary to aware of persons which argument is persuaded and dogmatic persons or naives should be excepted in this issue.