claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

reason: only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The authors claim stating "the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint" is valid. Generally, an argument arises when there are two different perceptions or views of the same topic. In such situations there is no one who is right or wrong its just the view you have and how good you articulate your side of the argument with instances and make the opposite one convince with your viewpoint. Making the other one understand your views clearly is very important in such kind of arguments, which can also discover the value of your idea. Having said that one must also ensure that one is delivering his/her idea and viewpoint softly without being harsh on the opposite side.

Firstly, we can have many instances which support this statement. The best example is the scenario of parliament ,where an idea is both equally defended and offended by two political parties to pass a certain bill. The side which can express their ideas and viewpoints clearly get to pass the bill. We can find the authors claim appropriately being fit in such kind of instances because stating your views ,understanding the opposite sides argument ,then analyzing the argument and lastly making the other side convince with your ideas is considered to be the best solution to such convoluted situations. Also now-a-days we can find debates in almost every sector, consider another instance like in corporate sector whenever they want to launch a new product they need to do campaigning and in order to do that there we can have many viewpoints but at last we consider the best view and go with that idea .Hence we can clearly understand that articulating your voice clearly towards the stand you take in an argument is really necessary. Having said that, sometimes you also need to clearly analyze the opposite viewpoint also because you might miss some important points which you can analyze be hearing what the other one had to say. By doing so, we can improvise our ideas and produce the appropriate view in such a way that even the opposite person has nothing to say rather than accepting your point .Another best example to make the authors claim valid is lawyers profession ,where the lawyer defends his client and proves his viewpoint validity by convincing the other side which results in his/her win.

The contrasting views of the other one might be valid but we must ensure that our side is the best. Hence the one who passes the test claimed by the author in this instance can have many advantages also. Like , he/she would be considered first before taking any decision. Lastly the authors claim about "the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint" is totally agreeable.