Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

The author claims a statement stating "Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying" is undoubtedly true which can be discussed further in detail. The author thinks that when the student he himself has to complete the entire course of study then how can he not choose the field in which he is interested in? When a student chooses his own interested field he/ she would be able to produce better and productive results.

In some situations parents might force children to take up the courses which they intend to do. In such cases student takes up the particular field of study without any interest. This lack of interest will result in poor performance and sometimes even abandon their studies. For instance, consider the example of a situation where a student wants to become a writer but his/her parents wanted him/her to become an actor. There arises the entire problem. Unwillingly, the student takes up the acting course, but his heart will be with writing. In such a situation he will neither perform in acting nor does he improve in writing. If given a chance to the student, and make him join in writing courses, then he might become very successful in life and reach great heights in his/her life.

Consider another instance where sometimes the result of forcing students in any other field which they are not interested in could be devastating. Recently, there was an article in a local newspaper which I came across stating a student has committed suicide because of the pressure in engineering field, while all he wanted was to become a doctor. As a result of that incident his parents were left heartbroken. But they were in a helpless situation because the damage has already been done. If they had reacted earlier, such incident would not have been cited. Hence the universities, parents and all the elders should be responsible and let the student take up the course in which the student is interested in.

Hence the authors statement about "Universities should be responsible for the courses students take up" is absolutely true. Once the university ensures that student is content and passionate about the course he/she took, it could be a fruitful result to the university also. Because when the student is pursuing his interest of study he/she can be so creative towards their study and can reach many heights in their respective fields. That can be a lucrative deal for the university in getting a good will to it.