the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The author states that "the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition" which is debatable. Let us discuss this in detail. In any field when we have a sense of competition our work efficiency increases and also our brain starts thinking creatively in a zeal to be in the race. When we start working in such a environment our work will also lead to better and fruitful results. Also it would bring a sense of consiousness in the opponent and also helps them to perform better and deliver progressive results.

Having said that, when we work in a cooperative environment, we deliver resuts but not upto the mark. When you dont feel any sense of competition, mentally we come across a feeling of no competition and urge to be creative. Then our brain does not function upto the mark. For instance let us consider the corporate life of mnc"s (multi- national companies) where they live in a growing competitive world day by day which urges them to deliver the best results and products to the company. This creates an urge of working better to the other mnc and results in better products and market. Another instance, in schools and colleages we come across many competitions where all the students participate and compete one another. Why don't they conduct events with coperation rather that competition? The answer is pretty auster, when left in a pressuraized situation our brain starts orking very effeciently and performs the best. Consider the way any government works why do they have to divide into different poplitical parties and solve issues? Why cant they all be in one party and deal with the issues coperatively? Beacause that's not how the world operates. And compeitions exist in every field inorder to make your performance best.

As the apothegm says "every good thing has a bad thing", when we are in a competitve world we feel a sense of pressure. But inorder to perform the best when we come across a bit of pressure, we should learn to tackle such situations very craftily. Dealing with that pressure itself is the challenge thrown. When we handle such typical situations we learn to deal any situation that might arise in future and challenge us. When we live in a competitive world we also come across great leaders who become a part of our glorified history and get named as world leaders. If left in a cooperative world there will be no new thoughts we go for the same old traditional methods to perform any activity in any feild.

In conclusion the authors claim about living in a cooperative world rather that a competitive one does"nt work practically. And contrasts with the real world.