Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

A modern society in many countries has a predilection to bring up specialists and experts in particular areas in order to maximise problem-solving opportunities. Indeed, individuals who spent a greater time on the fields that they were interested in at a university can be prepared for recondite concepts and practices in technology and engineering, which make up a significant portion of work in the current era. Thus, it is not surprising that there are a number of proponents who wish to empower students to focus on the domain that they are passionate for. I largely agree with this perspective considering efficiency of time and resources that students possess, while we must not give up providing pedagogy for students to be well-rounded and cross-disciplined to play their role as society members.

To begin with, students in universities tend to own limited time and funds. To be good at in a specific domain, regardless whether the field is obscure or not, one needs investments in the form of funds and hours of efforts. If universities were to increase the volume of conditions for a graduation such as requiring taking more courses from other departments, students will have to place less resources in the field that wish to pursue and assign more time and efforts to other studies.

On a similar note, if universities mandate requirements imposing students to undertake irrelevant subjects, students, who lack resources, may incur greater debts by the time they graduate and joining a workforce in the community may be postponed further. As such, universities a large number of compulsory lectures from the fields that students are not eager to pursue may burden students in the end.

With all these suggestions, however, it is paramount for students to be able to emphasize and have compassion for other community members as well as be capable of doing basic mathematics to go to markets everyday. To do so, recommending a small number of foundational courses in humanities and sciences by universities will benefit students to prepare for the society that they will contribute to and to obtain fundamental skills that they would need on a daily life.

Overall, to reduce burdens of students lacking time and money, it is advisable that students allocate their resources in exploring the areas that they would like to major in. Nonetheless, it should not be overlooked that pillars of necessary prowess such as basic mathematics and an ability to interact other society members need to be emphasized.