The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the comp

Though it seems that the business manager of this television station may have articulated the recommendation with plausible contexts, the implementation of this recommendation cannot be strongly supported because of its logical fallacy and a lack of evidence in explaining a causal relationship.

First of all, the author does not provide any contexts on the nature of the complaints received from viewers. For all we know, the increased discontents may not have resulted from the decreased time of the weather and local news. To ensure the caus and effect relationship, it is vital to engage with more details around the characteristics of the complaints. Are these complaints repetitive from a small number of viewers who are discontent? Are the complaints problematizing quality and coverage of weather and local news as opposed to a short length of the news? If the cause of the complaints are not due to the length, increasing the length of the show will not prove to be effective in attracting more viewership.

Along with the validation of the complaints, even if the nature of the complaints were proven to be verified, will audiences be more open to a longer weather and local news? The local viewers may prefer other types of the shows, such as local animal shows, than weather and local news, considering its opportunity costs. Thus, this aspect requires the TV station to do further research with its close audiences rather than assuming 'good old days' will deliver the job in attaining viewership.

Similarly, the rationale behind reduction in advertising contracts with local businesses is not obvious in this memorandum. The business manager assumes that local businesses ends contracts with the television station since less viewers are available for the station. Though this can be a reasonable guess, the author does not consider alternative reasons that advertising on the TV station is declining. For instance, the reduction in advertising via TV has been replaced by other mediums. With younger generations familiear with Internet and on-demand programs, advertisement on TVs may not bring profitable outlooks to local businesses anymore. Furthermore, there may be economic difficulties in local or national levels that businesses overall may have to cut the costs of advertisement. If these alternative explanations are verified, increasing the time spent on weather and local news to its previsou level will not bring a greater revenue for the station.

In short, the assertion and recommendation that the author proposes needs to be carefuly examined since the author does not provide details around contexts in the nature of the complaints from viewers and the reason behind cancelling the advertisement contracts by local shops. Moreover, viewers' wish to watch weather and local news needs to be further surveyed through a prudent control as audiences may express different perspectives on which program should be added or lenthened to watch the programs on this TV station.