Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Language and verbalization of a position makes someone develop a more refined idea about their belief. People might have used to behave in a certain way without having formed a clear-cut reasoning to explain their behavior. Their actions might be a result of their habits, that have been ingrained through years of following the same steps. For example, a young child viewing a person being hurt by someone might step into the fight trying to protect their peer; but, if asked why they did that they might not be in a position to justify their actions. When this child is being asked to provide an argument to support their decision to get involved, and especially from someone with an opposing view, it is then that he/she will start to process the specific action and search for reasons why protecting innocent people is the right thing to do. Therefore, the claim is valid in supporting that trying to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint about one’s argument is the best way to put the argument in test.

First and foremost, being urged to defend a position against someone with a different opinion, an individual is able to understand this position more thoroughly. This is because when someone holds a view and acts in consistence with this view, it is likely that this person never had to peruse over the logic behind this position. Being challenged an individual is required to give reasons for his/her idea. When several of these reasons are not accepted by the opponent or counterarguments are being presented, this person has to bring more ideas into the table to support the position. This process, especially when it the result of a friendly conversation and not a verbal attack, results in a more thorough understanding of the multiple perspectives comprising the idea into question. Therefore, the person holding the position taking advantage of the feedback from the others will shape the initial position in a well-refined idea that defines him/her. Socrates, the ancient philosopher and teacher of Plato, was a fiery supporter of this position, encouraging his students to not be intimidated by contrasting views, but instead voluntarily seek them to test the validity of their arguments.

Another instantiation of this point of view is that when someone is not willing to expose his/her worldviews in contrasting views, he/she will be less likely to highly identify himself with this idea. Social psychology researchers have conducted a variety of experiments to test this theory. According to their findings, people whose opinions are being on purpose undermined through experimental manipulation are more eager to fight for them and assign to them higher value, in the sense of how central they are for them. Thus, challenging one’s beliefs or ideas can have as a result the other person to more passionately champion in favor of them and consider them more valuable.

In conclusion, trying to persuade someone about the legitimacy of an idea makes the person arguing more thoroughly fathom all its central aspects and more likely to value its significance.