The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends Nosinia as effective cure for severe allergy symptoms based on feedbacks from researchers and trial participants. To support his/her claim, the author compared Nosinia's outgrowth with seasonal allergies and cites the responses from both researchers and participants . Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's recommendation could become pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether seasonal allergies are merely minor symptoms, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that such guesswork doesn't hold true because some seasonal allergies could lead to terrific outgrowth even endanger people's life. Without additional information to thoroughful evaluation about different categories of such disease and specific situations of respondents in research, it is possible that several patients in those research suffer severe seasonal disease. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge seasonal allergies is just a minor issue for all patients and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that none of participants have serious seasonal allergies could strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that seaonal allergies aren't heavy disease and given the feedback of researchers and participants, whether Nosinia work perfectly for severe symptoms needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that all of researchers reports the truth of investigation. The probability that they attend to facilitate sales of Nonsia or their researcher results for Nonsinia is partial or even incorrect must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that their impartial attitudes for such medicine and the validity of their experimental result, his/her viewpoint will be strengthened.

Furthermroe, the second implication is that participants are able to report their health status correctly . While it is supposed so from issue's description, the probability that participants mightn't be able to compare with effect after taking Nosinia and placebo could not be excluded in advance. For example, several participants, who suffered severe symptoms for a long time, had already lost conscience to judge how body's response impartially. Thus, we have no clues whether Nosinia really produce relatively better effect than placebo. If no, the guess of superiorty of Nosinia is unlikely to be true despite the fact that postive feedback of patients. Otherwise, we might guess it could actually work, creating relief effect.

In summary, while majority of seasonal allergies patients might only react with benign symptoms in practices and Nosinia's inefficaicy for those diseases could be drawn from this phenomenon, the author's initial conclusion still cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Futhermore, even if seasonal allergies belongs to minor symptoms as discussed, its efficiency for severe allergy symptoms is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.