The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author recommends to take similar action in the opposite side of the city and predicts such approach could revitalize the city. Furthermore, he/she cites freeway's construction case, which lead to the decreasing crime rates and tax revenue raise-up. In addition, the current status of target district under development seems still vacuous and suitable for similar construction like the previous experience. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports. Therefore, we need to consider more evidence to help evaluate the author's conclusion.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify if tax revenue increase and crime rate decline are actually out of construction nearby the freeway. While it is shown that crime rates decline and tax increase happened as substandard housing construction near the freeway, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that crime rates decline is caused by more temporary employees used by factories nearby and tax revenue increase actually stemmed from other financial contribution rather than factory's input. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether employee in those factories keep stable or fluctuate violently during such period and how about the proportion of tax revenue contribution. If new evidence shows that employment status changed dynamically in these years and those factories' tax contribution just occupied mere part of total city's tax revenue, it is reasonably safe to claim that crime status and the tax revenues might not be brought about by such construction and the author's conclusion will be weakened. On the contrary, if new information discloses an opposite situation, his/her conclusion will be strengthened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether we can apply the experience of previous construction to the opposite side of the city. First of all, while crime improvement and tax revenue input is astonishing, detailed comparison between two districts could lend more support to the evaluation of the author's statement about lending previous experience to new district. If new evidence shows that two districts have totally different industrial situation, to blindly use the previous experience for new district is in great doubt and his/her conclusion will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we do not the reason why some houses and apartments in nearby neighborhoods are unoccupied and whether they are already reserved for other purposes. If it turns out that they are pre-occupied by other plans, we are unconvinced of whether we can apply for our construction as expected.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all the previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's conclusion requires more information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether such construction strategy on the opposite part could also invoke an accordingly improvement for crime and furthermore for tax input; that is to say, even if all of author's ideas for application of the existing construction experience is right, a similar construction using substandard housing condition could take effect for the opposite side of the city and give out benefit for crime and revenue. As mentioned above, the opposite sides is experiencing the decline of residential area. In the passage, we can not found any valid evidence about the root cause of such phenomenon. If such causes of decline could be remedied by the subsequent construction, his/her conclusion will be lent great support to. On the contrary, we are reluctant to believe that such approach will work as expected.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her recommendation compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate such suggestion.