Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author recommends cancellation of the students evaluation of processors in Omega University. To support his/her claim, the author cites students' grade improvement after such changes of education mode. Furthermore, employers' comment is referred as evidence for students' inferior performance of job hunting. In addition, he/she compared students' job seeking performance in Omega with those in Alpha College. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we need more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need evidence to verify if professors really tended to make a higher score after adapation of such evaluation program. While it is shown that the risen average score of students coincided with this new proceduce, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that this positive change had been caused by great progress of professors' educational improvement. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether professors became more concentrated on their courses to provide students with better trainings and course materials or if students had enhanced their learning ability and gained better score. If new information shows that they actually spent more time for their own educational responsibility and made tride compared with before, it is reasonably safe to claim that higher scores aren't counterfeited by professor for the sake of better feedback and his/her reasoning will be weakened. On another hand, if new evidence discloses that both professors and students become less arduous and hard-working for their own jobs, his/her viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether such evaluation program impacts on students' learned skills and further for job hunting result. First of all, while employer's comments represents their negative comments for students' ability, we can't argue that such negative attitude would cast their evaluation of Omega students during recuitment. If evidence shows that employer actually keep enthusiasm to enroll students from Omega University, one negative impact mentioned in the issue could be in great doubt and his/her claim will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to know whether students from Omega really play inferiorly compared with Alpha University during job interview or other evaluation in job hunting process. If it turns out that they attended to get an much better job position instead of seeking inferior provision in market and therefore majority of them rejected offers frequently, we are unconvinced of the relatively worse job hunting results reflect their skills and ability to seize an better.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether cancellation of such program could improve students' performance during getting better job; that is to say, whether students and professor might even lose their passion as a result of the fraction of their accustomed learning mode. If the answer is positive, his/her viewpoint will be strengthened. On the contrary, if both students and professor disgust such abrupt change, we are reluctant to believe that it could work as its expectation.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her claim compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate such conclusion.