The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the author recommends investment for Conslidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sales of residental heating oil, as the result of anticipated increasing demand of heating oil. To support his/her claim, the author quotes the climate forecasters at Waymarsh University and a mass of new houses are under construction in this region. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears, there actually exists several questions in the line of reasoning, that requires further analysis. And the author's recommendation could end up in pretty convincing or invalid, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on the accuracy of weather prediction, a question that need further analysis. It is possible that such prediction is totally wrong, as the Earth has highly complex claim system and the University which led such observation might make flaw in process. Furthermore, without additional information, it's likely that northeasten America actually experiences a warmer winter. If it is true, the conclusion of harsh weather prediction fall into untenable and we can expect the increasing heating oil demand consequently. On the contrary, the weather's prediction could gain more weight and the author's recommendation will be strengthened.

Granted that winter climate would stay harsh and given the new houses are built in this region, whether the heating oil demand could raise up in response to harsh weather and increasing population needs a second look. Actually behind the author's conclusion lie two implications. The first one is that people would like to stay in the very region regardless of weather condition, which would be a unanswered question. However, the probability that people might migrate to a warmer region to eschew with bitter winter could be easily precluded, in the absence of sufficient information. Yet, if yes, the author's recommendation would lost weights; by constrast, the increasing population would gains great support to heating oil demand, and therefore the author's recommendation become seeming robust.

Furthermore, the second one is that heating oil will remain as the major fuel source for residental heating. While people in the past mainly depend on oil for their residental heating, the probability that new energy alternatives could not be precluded in advance. It's likely that the new heating approaches powered by solar or nuclear energy could enter market and compete with oil fuel. If it's true, we could somehow question if the oil headling demain could coincide with the increasing residental heating requirement. On the contrary, the increasing heating oil demand could be expected from the robust heating demand from local, creating favorable market for Consolidated industries.

While the heating oil demand could be expected from both severe winter weather and increasing population pressure, whether Consolidated Industries could play robust financial performance as the author assumes is still problematic. Other factors, such as management efficiency, could also restrict with its ultimate financial performance. If it is poorly managed and fraught with corruption, it's unreasonable for us to assume that Consolidated Industries could gain huge profit and worthy investment.

In summary, while inclement winter and population pressure provide huge potential to the increasing demand of heating oil, this is a conclusion that could be derived from the information mentioned in passage. Furthermore, given the increasing heating oil demand, we also don't have clues that Consolidated Industries could perform well as expect. Only after question aforementioned are adequately addressed can we efficiently draw a logically sound conclusion.