The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client."Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument depends solely on the rise in demand for heating oil, which will consequentially result in profits for businesses catering to these demands. this argument seems logical at first, but evaluation from different perspectives paint a contrasting picture. which needs to be analysed in detail.

Firstly, the homes in northeastern United states have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. it needs to be verified that this traditional technology is still in use. Most likely these appliances could have been replaced with electric heating systems or worse the heating oil could have been completely replaced. we must look at the present state of market demand for heating oil systems in this region, and further its future sustainability in terms of rapidly changing technology.

Secondly, the climate forecasts made by Waymarsh University can't be trusted fully. Not to deny that these forecasts help us make a substantial decisions, but at the same time, these are after all forecasts with an associated probability of occurences. So these forecasts must be taken with a pinch of salt in our planning phase. we should verify these forecasts with other agencies as well. A comprehensive picture of forecasts must be taken, to make sure that these forecasts turn out to be true with greater probabilities. Or else the entire marketing program might backfire.

Thirdly, a great market demand is expected from newly built houses. The need for heating oil based equipment should be verified with the housing agencies, quantitative data should be available to approximate the market demand created from these newly built houses.

In conclusion, I will say that it may be a good recommendation to invest in heating oil based ventures. However, many aspects like the state of the heating technology and its future; reliability of weather forecasts; and the quantifiable market demand; require much more clarity in terms of available information. With this crucial information we will be in a better state to consider this investment recommendation.