The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is concluded that the client should invest in a business which operates retail sales of heating oil because homes in northeastern areas of United States traditionally used oil for heating and it is forecasted that cold winters are to be expected for several years to come. This conclusion cannot be drawn from the data provided without answering the following questions.

First, how accurate is Waymarsh University's weather forecats for the following years? As we have all experienced, weather forecasts tend not to be really accurate, even about next few days, let alone next several years. It is possible that their forecast is just an estimation based on basic observations. Also, this forecast about long cold winters in the nest years might be biased in favor of corporations producing and selling fuels. In any of these cases, the argument is flawed.

Further, do these newly built homes use the oil for heating? It is quite possible that new homes are equiped with modern heating technologies that operate with electricity, not oil. Also, if these homes are also provided with natural gas, they might use gas as their main fuel source instead of oil. Especially with the omnipresent advertisements for green fuels these days, new homes are even more likely to choose more environment-friendly fuels instead. In any of these scenarios, the argument does not hold water.

Moreover, even if the forecast is impartial and accurate, and homes still use oil as their main fuel for heating during winter, still another question remains unanswered: Are the other activities that this company operate as profitable as retail sale of heating oil? What if company's other operations are counterproductive and the overall performance does not yield enough profit? What if these other activities impose environmental taxes on the company and hence, cause the overall profit to sink drastically? If any of these situations happen, the conclusion stated cannot be drawn.

All in all, the current argument, without any more pieces of information, is extremely flawed. However, a better evaluation of this argument is possible if the aforementioned questions are answered.