The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp states that interview-centered method of study adopted by his team provides much more accurate knowledge about traditions regarding child-rearing in Tertia island and other islands because its conclusions refute a former study conducted by Dr. Field 20 years ago which used observation-centered method to show that children were reared by the whole community. However, some other evidences are needed for such argument to be valid:

First, the sample size for both studies should be presented and compared. Whithout knowing how many people of that island were studied, those studies cannot be compared. Maybe the first study observed all people of the village while the second only chose three families. It is also possible that both studies chose samples which were too small to yied information which can be generalized to the whole island. If any of these circumstances happened, this argument is weakened.

Next, even if both studies chose an appropriate sample, it is unknown whether anything interfeared with the culture of the islanders in the past 20 years. Evidence should be presented regarding that this culture was stable in the past 20 years. For example, maybe they started to use TV and other forms of technology, which led to adopting the culture presented in the media. Or many people from other places and islands have immigrated to that island and they are rearing their children according to the culture they brought with themselves. In such circumstances, the conclusion stated cannot be drawn.

Last, evidence regarding the validity of study questions should be provided. What if the second study included mainly questions about biological parents? It is likely that people talk about their biologiacl parents if they are stricty asked about them. What if study questions answered by observators implied a biased view toward bearing the children by entire village and hence, researchers provided biased answers? In these instances the argument does not hold water.

After all is said and done, the current argument, without further evidenvce, is extremely flawed and it is not possible to conclude that observation-centered approach adopted by Dr. Karp is any more valid than the observation-based method used by Dr. Field. However, if the aforementioned evidences are provided, a better evaluation of this argument is possible.