Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue that companies have a responsibility to support the health and well-being of people and the environment is a controversial matter. While some argue that a corporation's ultimate goal should be making a profit, others believe that they should also be held responsible for the well-being of others. My personal view aligns more closely with the later view for the following reasons:

To begin with, it is not always possible to enforce the law completely. Many restrictions implemented in the law can be circumvented by companies. Take Volkswagon environmental fiasco as an example. Even though law prohibiting the construction of cars with too much environmental damage was present at the time, this company, along with other companies that later accepted such an unlawful action, managed to make fake environmental test data and, therefore, passing the required standards to sell their products. If a company does not acknowledge the obligation to care for the health of people and the planet, the law might not be able to restrain it completely.

Further, even if the law is completely and appropriately enforced, it might not be perfect. There are always some spots in an industry that are not included in the law. For example, Shell company has left many of its old, obsolete facilities in the middle of the ocean to erode and sink over time because there is no law requiring oil companies to clear the ocean from their old devices and facilities. While the law cannot be perfect, it is imperative that companies feel this obligation to care about the health of others.

On the other hand, the law is the only tool available for forcing these responsibilities on companies. Corporations, like VolksWagon, Shell, and others, will always seek their profits, and they cannot be really trusted to comply with these responsibilities volunteer ally. Whether it seems moral or not, big corporations have always proved themselves to be likely to harm people and the environment to make even scantly more profit. Hence, more restrictive and comprehensive laws should be passed to make sure companies have no escape from regulations and restrictions.

Ultimately, this issue has many different aspects that should be considered. Acknowledging social and environmental responsibilities by corporations is helpful where the law is imperfect or cannot be effectively enforced. But that responsibility itself might be needed to be imposed by the law.