Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Has science helped us to get a better understanding of our envirnoment? While some might argue that science has been perplexing to us, many others assert that scientific discoveries have minimized the vagueness of the world around us. My personal view aligns more closely with this latter view that science, with all of its limitations, has helped us to know more about our world, for the following reasons.

First, scientific discoveries have helped us to recognize the real cause of many phenomena. Take medical discoveries such as discovery of bacteria as an example. People were used to get seek, suffer and eventually die from many sicknesses while they could do nothing to prevent or cure their ailment. Now that we know about bacteria, we wash our hands with sanitiziers, we take antibiotics, and we live a longer life in average. Scientific discoveries have provided us with this chance to understand the causes of different problems we encounter as an species and this, in turn, has helped us to better manage our lives.

Further, science has revealed many of underlying mechanisms of the phenomena we used to assume "arbitrary". For instance, the discovery of sun's UV light and its deletorious effects on human body, inculding the eyes, has helped us to understand why almost all of old people suffer from poor vision. Now that we know sun's UV makes the transparent lense in the eye less clear over time, we have this option of using sunglasses to avoid this problem as we age. It is obvious that scientific discoveries has helped us to have a better knowledge of our environment and eventually, ourselves.

Last, it should be acknowledged that although science has helped us to learn about the causes and mechanisms of different phenomena around us, it has confounded us in some aspects as well. For example, astronomical discoveries have shown that our knowlwde about the universe had been too rudimentary before. The more we learn about space, the more we realize that the universe is too enormous to be understood. So, it is right, sometimes these discoveries do more in favor of making us less confident about our knowldege.

Ultimatelty, as the effects of science in our lives is so complex, many different aspects should be put into consideration before drawing a conclusion. While scientific discoveries have helped us to identify the causes and mechanisms of many events, they have been confusing for us in some regards as well. However, I believe that science has done more good than bad to elucidate this vague world for us.