“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

What is the best way to teach? While some expert believe teaching happens by rewarding desirable actions and punishing undesirable ones, many others state that the best way to teach is by rewarding positive actions and ignore the negative ones. The prompt author is among the second group and I personally, assert that albeit not completely feasible, it is generaly a good approach because of following reasons:

To begin, behavioral psychologists have long discussed that rewarding is the key to teaching In fact, brain studies show that when an action is rewarded, dopamine, a key hormon in menthal wellbeing, is released in the brain and that percipitate the recurrence of that behavior. This phenomenon is seen in children, adults and even animals. When a student performs well in a test, they get a good mark, they get praised by their teacher and ultimately they feel proud. This student is likely to study for the next test to experience this feeling again. So, rewarding is advantageous to teach students their lessons.

Next, rewarding creates an atmosphere of positive feelings and motivations while punishment leads to negative feelings and ultimately a hatred for the education system. For example, if a student is reprimanded in front of his friends because of his bad score, he will experience shame and hatred towards his teacher or even those other students who got better marks. Such feelings often result in avoidance and so, in the long run, not only the student is not going to be motivated to ameliorate his score, but also he might drop out of school altogether. It can be said that unlike punishment which will only destroy the positive atmosphere of learning, rewarding is advantageous to create an atmosphere of motivation and acceptance.

Last, it should not be neglected that in some cases, punishment is needed to discipline children and people. For instance, if a child steals something from another child. His actions hsould not be ignored. Instead, he should be told that this behavior is unacceptable and he will get punished if he does more. The idea of relying only on rewarding might not be helpful in this scenario.

In short, this subject is a complex one and should be considered in various situations but it can be said that rewarding is advantageous to help people learn and to create a positive atmosphere for them. However, punishment might also be necessary in order to teach people about social rules and disciplines.