The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, it is concluded that UltraClean concentrated hand soap should be used by everyone in the Worktown hospital because it has shown to be effective in a laboratory experiment and a lower rate of infection was experienced while usning the normal version of the product. However, this conclusion cannot be drawn from the provided information and following pieces of evidence should be provided in order to validate this claim.

First, it should be evidenced that the culture of bacteria used in the laboratory study was the same as those found in the hospitals and medical facilities. It is possible that this experiment was conducted only on a specific strain of bacteria and hence, it might be not as effective on other strains. Also, it might be the case that the ratio of the diferent strains of bacteria present in the study is significantly different from that of real world. In this case, the real-world outcome might be extremely different from the results observerved in the laboratory. If any of these are true, this argument is flawed.

Furher, a piece of evidences should be provided to indicate that the concentrated version of the product is at least as effective as the regular-strength kind. Maybe, in the process of concentration of the product a specific ingredient has been added which minimizes the sanitizing efects of the product. Maybe this concentrated product does not dissolve in water as easily as the old normal-strength product and hence, most of the liquid is wasted, reducing the overal cleaning effects. In any of these scenarios, the conclusion advising the use of this concentrated UltraClean liquid cannot be drawn.

Moreover, empirical data should be provided evidencing that use of this product is not harmful to anyone. As this liquid is to be used by everone in the hospital, including visitors, it should be cleared that it has no deletorious effects on the human body. It is possible that this antibacterial liquid kills the beneficial strains of the bacteria as well. Or that it causes extreme irritation and adverse allergic responses in some people. Also, like many other antibacterial solutions, it might result in strenghing the pernicious strains of bacteria in the long run. In these cases, the argument does not hold water.

All in all, the current argument, without any additional data and pieces of evidence, is extremely flawed. However, if evidence regarding the bacteria tested in the laboratory, effectiveness of the concentrated version comparing to the normal product, and the possible adverse reactions of the product is provided, a valid evaluation of this argument is possible.