The following appeared as a letter to the editor of National Issues magazine in the country

of Ganadia.

Last month, National Issues ran an article about the decline—as measured by shrinking

populations and the flight of young people—of small towns in Ganadia. Here in

Lemmontown, a small resort town on the ocean, we are seeing just the opposite:

citizens from the neighboring towns of Armontown and Gurdy City are moving here at a

record rate. Furthermore, greater than ever numbers of high school graduates in

Lemmontown are choosing to stay in Lemmontown, as the building of new hotels has

created a significant number of jobs. All along the eastern seaboard are similar stories.

Small towns in Ganadia are not in decline.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival

the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the

facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, it has been concluded that, opposite to the printed article in the magazine, small towns in Ganadia are not experiencing decline in population because Lemmontown's highschool graduates are hired in the hotels being built in the resort town and even some citizens from nearby areas are immigrating into the town. It is stated that this condition is shared with other towns in eastern seabord as well. However, the evidence presented is not enough to make such a conclusion as there might be some other explanations, as it follows:

First, not every small town in the country is a resort or located near the sea. For example, maybe most small towns in the country are located far from the sea or any natural tourist attraction and hence, people in those towns make a living by farming. Also, some small towns might be located in areas with bad weather. In any of these conditions, the argument is extremely weakened.

Further, even if most towns in the country are located near the sea, they might be not this popular. For instance, some of these towns might be still unknown to public and therefore, not attracting many people. Furthermore, residents of a particular town may be against building hotels and transforming their tranquil small town to a famous resort. If any of these hypothesises are right, the argument is not robust enough.

Last, even if most small towns of the country are located near the sea, and they all have perfect conditions to be resorts, what if it is not possible to build new hotels in those towns. As an example, most of these towns might lack finances to build new hotels. Also, they might be already filled with hotels and torurist facilities. If these instances are proven to be real, such a general conclusion cannot be drawn about small towns.

In short, the current argument is extremely flawed because it lacks evidence about ratio of small towns near the sea, tourism popularity of those towns and feasibility of building new hotels in them. Such evidences will help elliminate some the presented alternative explanations and therefore make a better evaluation of the argument, possible.