In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

The importance of imagination compared to knowledge has long been discussed among professionals and academics. While many might argue that imagination is more important, after weighing the evidence, it is clear that knowledge is the key factor.

First, many professions and academic fields need a certain certification of knowledge to start their practice. Without the required knowledge no one can even enter the field, let alone using their imagination. For example, if a medical student has a powerful imagination and has ideas regarding new ways for performing a specific surgery, they might not be able to perform that unless they acquire enough knowledge to become a certified surgeon in the first place. Hence, knowledge is required to enter many fields.

Second, many jobs and academic fields consist of tasks which are ultimately routine. Therefore, people in such professions and fields do not need much imagination, they rely hevily on their knowldege instead. For instance, a typist's job consists of long hours of sitting and pushing keys on a keyboard. While this job does not require any kind of imagination, it definately needs the knowledge and skill of fast typing. So, routine jobs rely hevily on knowledge and skills rather than imagination.

Third, Imagination happens only after acquiring basic knowledge. No one can use their imagination if they do not have some knowledge in a profession or academic field. As an illustration, a person who is not an aerospace engineer does not know much about engines of planes, therefore, they might not be able to use their imagination to make enhancements to the performance of such engines. So, knowledge is a requisite for imagination.

On the other hand, it is neccessary to consider that there are a few professions that need no certification, are not really routine and do not require much knowledge. In such professions, imagination might be more important that knowldege. For example, a shopkeeper might use their imagination to sort the goods in a way that it is astonishing to the customers. Hence, in a minority of professions imagination might be more important than knowldege.

In conclusion, It can be said that imagination is not as important as knowledge in most professions and academic fields because many professions need a certificate of knowldege, many jobs are simply too routine to allow the use of imagination and a glimpse of knowldege is needed to make imagination possible.