The following appeared as a letter to the editor of National Issues magazine in the country

of Ganadia.

Last month, National Issues ran an article about the decline—as measured by shrinking populations and the flight of young people—of small towns in Ganadia. Here in Lemmontown, a small resort town on the ocean, we are seeing just the opposite: citizens from the neighboring towns of Armontown and Gurdy City are moving here at a record rate. Furthermore, greater than ever numbers of high school graduates in Lemmontown are choosing to stay in Lemmontown, as the building of new hotels has created a significant number of jobs. All along the eastern seaboard are similar stories. Small towns in Ganadia are not in decline.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the reading, a letter to the editor of National Issues refutes the claim made by an article on declining population in small towns of Ganadia. The writer is an indigenous person of a small town of Gandia with increasing population. The magazine’s article almost certainly explained average trends of small towns of Gandaia. The main flaw in the argument of the writer is to consider Lemmontown to be the telling representative of population shrinkage of other towns of Ganadia. All the other flaws stem from the central fallacy of the writer.

The writer mentions that Lemmeontown, a resort town, is showing a trend opposite to what the magazine article claims. Inhabitants of the neighbouring towns of Armontown & Gurdy city are relocating themselves to Lemmontown. The writer doesn’t provide any information on how we can consider Lemmontown as overall representative of small towns in Ganadia. There should have been enough explanation that most of the towns in Ganadia are resort towns like Lemmontown.

Although the author mentions two other towns Armontown & Guindy city as evidence of blooming population in Lemmontown, they are acting as counter premises for his own argument. If citizens from those two towns are emigrating to Lemmontown, then their population must reduce. This claim is actually bolstering the magazine article’s claims. In order to prove his point, the author should have mentioned that there are more towns in Ganadia like Lemmontown than towns like Armontown and Gurdy City.

Finally the writer states that Lemmontown like stories are commonplace all along the eastern seaboard. There is no mention in the argument that the eastern seaboard is the actual representative area of Ganadia. Also there is lack of quantification of information like portion of the towns seeing rise in population, how greater is the rise in population compared to shrinkage in some towns. To substantiate his claim, the writer should mention that the success stories in eastern seaboard are how much greater in quantity than small towns with declining population. Also he could have given a quantitative representation of the overall area or population of the eastern seaboard compared to the total area or population of Ganadia.

The letter to the editor generalizes an exception and makes claim out of that exception. He has not rightly addressed how his explanation of Lemmontown can be taken as the overall big picture of Ganadia. There are counterpoints in the writer’s own arguments as well. There is also lack of quantification in the author’s claims. Therefore, the writer fails to substantiate his claim that overall population of Ganadian small towns are not in decline.