Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the

most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your

position.

The cardinal purpose of education is to enlighten a student, to show the right path & to exhort the best potential out of a student. That being said, it will be a negative attitude to assert that educational institutions should discourage students from stepping into a field of study in which they are less likely to succeed. Instead educational institutions should point out the best potentials in students and let the students decide their field of study.

To begin with, we can take the example of world famous singer Shakira. During her childhood, she had a penchant for music. She applied for a music school and during the entrance assessment of the school, the teachers of the school discouraged her to pursue singing referring her voice as goat like and egregious. But that rejection could not stop her from pursuing her passion for music. At present she has established herself as one of the most popular singer in the world. This instance clearly shows that it is not always righteous to judge the likelihood of success of a student in a particular field. The success of a student in a field depends on the passion and hard work of a student. A mere prediction cannot decide the future of a student.

Albert Einstein once applied for a PhD program in a reputed university in Germany. During the application process, he sent a research proposal. The admission committee rejected the application of Einstein stating his previous track record and his proposal not fitted for a PhD program. They suggested Einstein to pursue a career other than a PhD. But later on Einstein proved himself as one of the greatest scientists of all time and even received Nobel prize. This example clearly shows that educational bodies should try to find out the potential of a student and suggest suitable fields of study rather than discouraging the student from pursuing a field of study.

However, it is also important for educational institutions not to show wrong fields of study to students. For instance, if a student is weak in calculus, then it will not be wise for him to study Quantum Physics. Even if he wants to study Quantum Physics, his chance of failure is more. There lies the responsibility of educational institutions to show him or her right fields leaving the choice to the student.

In sum, every student is unique in some way or the other. Educational institutions are meant to shape the students properly. They should try to recognize the best qualities of students and introduce them to different fields of study suitable for them. Students should be allowed to choose their field of study on their own. It is also noteworthy that the pedagogical institutions should not suggest wrong or not suitable fields for a student. At the same time, it is a fallible idea that educational institutions have the responsibility to discourage students from choosing fields of study in which they are less likely to succeed. Success of a student depends on his or her passion, hard work.