Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Arts are expressions of human imaginations, emotions and freedom. They may be abstract or discerning. The evidence of presence of the arts in the world has been found from antediluvian period. From the ancient caves of France, Pyramids of Egypt, symphonies of Beethoven, and paintings of Leonardo Da Vinci all the examples of some of intriguing examples of the arts for the arts enthusiasts. Arts can be of different forms like music, picture, painting, dance, drama etc. Government funding of the arts helps in prosperity of the arts and also access of common people to the arts. Government funding helps the artists to feel secure of earning their livings. At the same time, museums require wealth to operate and acquire the collection of arts. Government financial support to museums certainly nourishes the arts and availability of the arts to all people. Art education is one of the major requirements of the arts to thrive. Government support to promote arts education certainly facilitates the prosperity of the arts. At the same time, government funding of the arts may restrict the freedom of artists which in turn may threaten the quality and integrity of the arts.

To begin with, everyone in the world needs to earn his living some way or the other. The artists are also no exception. If a government supports the artists financially, they will feel secure financially. This sense of financial security will help in exhorting the best works of the arts from the artists. For instance, the Artist Pension Scheme, introduced by the government of the state of Assam, India, ensured monthly financial support to the artists conforming to certain criteria prescribed by the government. After introduction of the scheme the state of Assam has seen resurgence of the arts in the state compared to the time when there was no financial support scheme as such.

Arts museums are the centre of resources of the arts. They make the arts available for the common public. But there is a huge amount of cost associated with creating as well as running a museum. Setting up a museum requires land, construction activity, collection of the art works and manpower. Also there is a significant running cost of a museum. They also need to update their collection of the arts. Government funding of museums can help covering all these aspects. The larger the number of museums, the better is the exposure of the arts to the common people.

Creating the arts is not a cake walk. There are requirements of considerable artistic skills and minds full of imagination. Without proper educational institutes for arts studies, the arts can’t thrive. Government funding to set up educational institutions for the arts and support to them provides ample opportunities for the arts aspirants.

However, the creation of the arts requires freedom of expressions. Government funding in the arts may restrict the freedom of the artists. Arts can be of any kind, one government is not certainly going to tolerate any kind of art opposing their political or other propaganda. There may also be chances of introduction of biasness in the arts. In that case, the arts will not be available in its pure form free of biasness and wanting freedom in expression.

In sum, financial support from the government helps the arts to thrive and the common people to get exposure of the arts. The financial support in creating and running museums, promoting educational institutions for arts, and funding the artists contribute to the holistic growth of the arts. But, there is a chance of constriction of freedom in the arts due to government funding. Nevertheless, the positive impact of government funding in the arts surpasses the fear of government funding threatening the integrity of the arts