Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new

leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim, that regardless of any field – business, politics, education, government - those in power should abdicate after five years, is specious. Also it is so far to say that reorganizing any organization through new leadership assures success and rejuvenation. Indeed there are some fields where introduction of new leadership may encourage innovation, but we can’t say it is applicable universally to every field. One of the key components of success to any enterprise will be to have a balanced approach in organizing the leadership between the new and the veteran leaders.

To begin with, experience is one of the key factor in leadership in any filed be it business, politics, education or government. A new and young leader may introduce dynamism to the filed, but he or she will definitely have little exposure to many of the critical aspects of running the show smoothly. For instance, energy business is evolving and is not limited to traditional type like petroleum products, natural gas etc. A newcomer leader to the energy business may focus primarily on alternate sources as alternate energy is the current trend in market. But in order to run a successful energy business one must have the proper exposure to both the renewable energy and traditionally used energy. So a balanced approach and mind set is required to handle the energy business today. Therefore, an enterprise focused on energy business need to select the leadership with both experienced and young representatives.

Admittedly, if we look into world politics, we can see that there are instances of countries where the number of tenures a premier gets is limited to maximum one or two. This is indeed for giving chance to the young and vibrant leaders. For example, in USA a person can be elected as a president for maximum two times. However, it may not be suitable to assert that new and young leaders will do better than the old ones. Leadership of a nation has to have a holistic understanding of the nation & the people. But with lack of experience, these understandings will not be suitable for running a nation properly.

However, it is a common trend globally among enterprises to focus on recruiting the young generation. It is a belief that young minds nurture brilliant ideas and they are far more innovative. But in selecting leadership, we have not seen a universal trend of giving chance to the new leaders only in the companies worldwide. If we look into the CEOs of the top companies like Google, Microsoft, Apple; one thing common among them is that they have spent enough time in the organizations before getting promoted to leaders.

In sum, the leadership selection in any field should have a balanced approach between selecting the young inexperienced and experienced ones. The reason provided in the reading that young leadership ensures success of an organization is dubious and does not have any basis.