Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement maintains that the boss or the first person of the organization should change after five years because it assures the success of the organizations. I could not be agree with this statement as it is, since the statement mentions this process should happen in any fields and it is the best way. While it could be a good process, but it should not generalize for all fields and it may some other ways that works better than this method.

The claim says that in any field ranging from politics and business to education and government all the bosses should change after 5 years. Although changing the first power of the organization due to reduction corruption and presenting new ideas to the organization looks reliable, it could not apply for all of the organizations. For example, in a research institute which investigation may take more than ten years to achieve results could be a disaster. It may change the process of the research to another way that are adjusted to the view of the new boss.

In the reason statement, it mentions that it is the best way that could support the success of the organization while it is possible to find another way that works better than this suggestion. For instance, some may recommend to add new consultant to the organization to help the manager and bring new ideas. The manager could pursue these ideas to promote the company and due to the experiences that the boss has and understanding the limitation of the organization, he could elect the best suggestion and assure the success of the organization.

Although the claim and the reason have some defects which I have mentioned above, it could be good suggestion if the defects could be removed. Changing the manager of an organization could have several advantages. First, it could reduce the corruption in the organization because after some years the boss could find different ways to take advantage of the organization and by changing him or her this path would be closed. Another advantage is that new manager could bring new ideas and energy to the organization which could force it to evolve and lead to success for the organization.

In conclusion, though the claim and the reason have some defects such as generalization for all of the fields and allegation that it is the best way, if the aforementioned issues could be solved the suggestion might be reliable. Because it could eliminate the corruption and bring new ideas and energy to the organization.