Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Throughout the world, power and management have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Many people believe that leaders in any field should withdraw their position after five years, the issue as to whether selecting new leading person is the best way to keep an organization succeed or not remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, I disagree with neither leaders should resign after five years nor the path to success of any company is appointing new chief.

First, it is important to recognise that the role of leaders is managing organizations and keeping them stable. Many people may argue that leaders tend to take advantage of power for their own benefit over time. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account that the fact that leaders are not only managers but also visionary individuals. Suppose, for example, Jeff Bezos is the founder of Amazon, he has started his journey more than twenty years ago and evolved Amazon with a clear vision to become a billion dollar company. If leaders have to resign from their positions after five years, they are unlikely to achieve milestones in their plans.

Second, it is equally important to recognise that “Rome was not built in a day”, it means success does not come overnight. Therefore, new elected leaders need time to get familiar with the convoluted structure of organizations. If they have only have five-year period, the limited amount of time could negatively affect their decision. As a result, leading term should not be fixed to a constant period of time and leaders might have sufficient time to accomplish their strategy. For instance, President Franklin D. Roosevelt was the only U.S president was elected in four consecutive terms, he served the longest presidency, over twelve years, before dying early in his fourth term; he implemented New Deal and led the United States overcome the Great Depression.

Finally, many people support the idea that re-electing new chairman continuously is the most certain way to success. However, they are ignorant of the fact that leadership position is not suitable for everyone and only those who have the capability and courage can take the responsibility to lead. Therefore, leaders must be people who are appropriate to organizations and from that they can direct the business to the road of success. A telling example is Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple, he was fired by his own company and was appointed to the CEO position after several years; when he came back, Apple was nearly bankrupt and under his leadership in more than twenty years, Apple now is one of the most innovative and successful tech companies.

In conclusion, it is not reasonable that people in power should step down after five years nor the road to success of organizations is changing their leader constantly. The living examples of Jeff Bezos, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Steve Jobs bear this out. They all had long time in leadership positions and attained remarkable results.