Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and

generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Major cities in a country are sources of prime attractions. The claim that governments must provide requisite financial support to the major cities in order to prosper is indeed a valid claim. However, the reason that the reading provides for the claim is questionable. The reason given by the reading is that major cities in a nation are the places where cultural traditions are generated and preserved. This claim is most likely based on observation of the ancient civilizations existed in the world. But it is so far to say that major cities are responsible for generation and preservation of a nation’s cultural traditions.

To begin with, the reading claims that primary cities must receive needed financial support for thriving from the authorities. The claim is very relevant and plausible. Major cities of a nation act as mirror image of the country. The perception of a nation by the global community depends on the perception of the major cities. For example, when one talks about India, the obvious names coming to a global citizen are the cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai etc. So proper patronizing of the major cities helps a country globally admired. Moreover, major cities are usually economic, industrial and business hubs of a country. Prosperous major cities attract national as well as global investments thereby contributing to further economic improvement of the country. Thriving major cities also helps in decreasing unemployment and economic imbalance in society.

However, the reason provided by the reading that primary cities of a country are sources and preservers of a nation’s cultural traditions is not supportable. Indeed there are many antediluvian cities which acted as sources of cultural traditions of the nations. For example, Roman, Mayan, Indus valley civilization etc. were city centric. But that does not mean that always major cities of a nation generates and preserves the cultural traditions of a country. In today’s world, most of the major cities in the world are cosmopolitan cities. These cities have seen people from different parts of the country and the world coming to live. In this era of globalization, we are moving for a global culture. Indeed there are traditional cultures present in the cities. For instance, Delhi is the capital city of India. Many cultural traditions of India have been preserved in Delhi. But if we look through the pages of history the cultures & traditions present in Delhi are not originated at Delhi. They were mixtures of Mughal cultures coming from Central Asia with amalgamation with nearby Hindu kingdom cultures. As a result of globalization, many architectural styles, cultural elements are not profusely seen nowadays in Delhi. One has to visit other small cities, towns or country sides of India where many components of Indian cultures are still preserved.

In sum, the reading makes a very apt claim that major cities of a nation must be funded well by the government to thrive. But the reason provided by the reading in no way supports the claim. Also the claim itself is dubious, baseless and extreme. Government of a nation should fund cities not only for preserving cultural traditions, there are many other factors which the reason fails to address. The reason provided in the reading should consider other factors supporting the claim.