Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural

state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain

how these consequences shape your position.

Environmental changes have become major concern among global community nowadays. Therefore afforestation and carbon emission is a major focus area among world environmentalists. Presence of forests or wilderness areas help in keeping the biodiversity of an area balanced as they are rich in biodiversity. Mankind has destroyed innumerable forests for economic as well as other benefits like housing, roads etc. Also industries are emitting toxic gases, Carbon Dioxide etc. to the environment which deteriorates the environment. Presence of wilderness areas like forests helps in neutralization of those emissions to some extent. Therefore it is a need for nations to sanction laws to preserve remaining wilderness areas in natural state at the cost of economic gain. However,

To begin with, economic growth is needed in a nation for uplifting the quality of life of the inhabitants. But economic growth at the cost of the environment is not sustainable. We all are working for a better tomorrow or in other words giving our future generations a better world to live. If we ruthlessly consider economic gains only neglecting the environmental impacts resulting from those gains, it will make the world unhealthy for our future generations. In this regard, nations should preserve the pristine wilderness areas even at the cost of economic gains.

Moreover, the major corporations are trying to do environmental friendly business globally. Therefore they are trying to adopt sustainable business model. For instance, Tata Motors of India were trying to establish a manufacturing plant in a remote village of the state of West Bengal. They were almost at the verge of completion of their plant, when environmental concerns rose by political as well as environmental activists. Tata motors finally relocated their entire plant to another state even if they incurred millions of dollar loss.

Admittedly, sometimes there may be situations when a nation needs to let go some of the pristine wilderness areas for economic need. In those cases, the nation should consider building up equivalent amount of forests or wilderness areas at some other part of the nation. In fact creation of large forests covering hundreds of square kilometres has become reality. For instance, a person, regarded as The Forest Man, namely Mr. Jadav Payeng planted a forest with few hundred square kilometre area in the state of Assam, India. So nations should learn from such instances and ensure that whenever forests or pristine wilderness areas are destroyed, there must be equivalent compensation at different portion of the nation.

In sum, the environment is deteriorating day by day. It is we and our future generations who are going to suffer. Therefore it will be clearly a fruitful step for nations to approve laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their pristine state, even if there is a possibility of economic development at the cost of those areas. However, there may be situations when destruction of such areas become a dire need, in that case nations should ensure proper compensation by plantation of equivalent amount of forests or wilderness areas in some other parts of the nation. This provision to be added in the law.