The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to editor of Balmer Island Gazette, predicates that mopeds are the most popular form of transportation in Balmer Island where the population sours up to 100,00 during summer months. It suggests the town council to limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies. By doing so, the author claims, the moped accidents will reduce commensurate to the reduction in mopeds on road due the limit imposed. The claim of the letter is specious and based on assumptions of the author. In order to bolster the claim, the author should have credibly addressed the assumptions made by him.

To begin with, the author precipitously intimates, through the letter, the town council of Balmer Island to qualify the number of mopeds rented by the moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day in order to diminish the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The author does not mention anything about other modes of transport available in the island. The reduction in number of mopeds rented daily may impact on the general public commutation. The author assumes that reduction in number of mopeds will inevitably reduce accidents. There is no assertion about the causes of the road accidents involving mopeds. There may be other causes of accidents like road conditions, mechanical failure of mopeds, erratic riding habits etc. All such probable causes need to be analysed before suggesting a solution to the problem of frequent accidents happening.

The author also applies mathematical proportion directly to practical scenario. According to the letter, 50% reduction in number of mopeds rented per day will help achieving 50% reduction in road accident. This claim is baseless. The author assumes that road accidents are directly proportional to number of mopeds on road.

Furthermore, the author also renders an instance of the neighbouring island of Seaville where reduction in moped rentals resulted in reduction in moped accidents. The letter assumes that whatever holds true for Seaville island will also hold true for Balmer island. There lies the flaw of his argument. The author should have provided enough evidence to substantiate that all the other factors resulting moped accidents like road conditions, mechanical conditions of mopeds, riding habits of rides etc. are similar for both the islands. The author should also have taken into account the other modes of commutation available at both the islands for public i.e. whether limiting number of mopeds on road will create discomfort to public or not.

In sum, the suggestion provided by the letter is flawed and so is the main conclusion of it. The author links moped accidents with the number of mopeds on road which is one of the fundamental flaws of the letter. Also the author tries to conclude that qualifying the number of mopeds on road will reduce the road accidents in Balmer in the same way as that of a neighbouring island Seaville. There is no mention of similarities between the two islands in terms of other conditions causing accidents.