The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents i

The argument claims that if the authority of Balmer Island restricts the quantity of mopeds for hire, the town council would achieve the analogous outcome of Seaville. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that if the authorities of Balmer Island limit the number of rented mopeds, they would obtain the result that Seaville town does. This statement is a stretch since the author does not provide any analysis and evidence to prove this point. Suppose, for example: Do Balmer Island and Seaville Island have similar geographical characteristics?, Is the quality of mopeds in both islands from the same manufacturer? or How many tourists do these islands receive every summer? Clearly, the author does not mention context that leads to the decision of Seaville’s town council. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the reason why the town council of Balmer Island should proceed with this plan.

Second, the argument claims that to decline the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town committee of Balmer Island should reduce the number of rented mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the number of mopeds and the number of accidents. To illustrate: How many numbers of mopeds and pedestrians are there in the town in peak time? Is the high number of pedestrians the cause of rapid increase in traffic collisions? If the argument had provided evidence that indicating connection between the number of mopeds and the number of accidents then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the recommendation is still ambiguous in many aspects. Why should the council apply this restricted order in the summer season instead of other season? What are the experiments that the authorities of Seaville town have made to conclude 25 is appropriate threshold value? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left without the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support current conclusion that applying the policy would help the authorities of Balmer Island attain the similar result of Seaville town.