The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of argument alleges the accident rate in the Balmer Island is directly corrolated with the mopeds service in the city and suggest a limitation in the number of the rental mopeds and believes this process could reduce the number of accidents in the town. Although the arguments looks reliable at the first glance, nonetheless when delve deeper there are rife of fallacies in the argument such as lack of the statistical data about accidents, unproviding reasons for reduction number of mopeds from 50 to 25, and comparing two different cities without presenting any evidences that shows they are compareable which I will explain completely now.

The first fallacy in the argument is that the author claims that in order to decline the number of accidents, they decide to limit mopeds while the writer does not present any statistical data that shows the main reason of the accidents. It is possible that the rate of accident that the mopeds are involved would be less than other causes like roads, private cares , or lack of driving signals. To support the argument, the author could hold a survey and study different reasons that may involve in the accident and provide reasonable statistical data.

Reduction the number of mopeds of is another problem of the argument. The author do not provide any reasonable evidence and do not mention any scientific method that applied to achieve this result that reducing 50 mopeds to 25 could show some reduction in the accident numbers. How they calculates the number of reduction? Furthermore, the argument do not provide any information about other type of transportation facilities. This reduction may affect the whole system of transportation if there is not any substitute for that. In order to remove fallacy of the argument, the writer could provide some additional information about other type of transportation system and shows that he do consider about substitution methods.

Finally, the author alleges this recommendation was worked for Seavile, so this method should work for Balmor. This allegation would not be true necessarily because the two cities may have different parameters like roads, passengers, culture, transportation system and the writer do not present any data that shows these two are similar in various cases. Therefore, it is suggested that the argument provide some additional data that shows these are compareble together.

In conclusion, though the argument looks reasonable at first, there are some problems in the argument such as lack of statistical data, comparing two different cities, and lack of information about other type of transportation system.