The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The number of mopeds that were rented on a daily basis depend upon the frequency of tourists in Balmer island. To estimate the result of the conclusion that the council should enforce restrictions on moped rentals and its consequences based on the outcome of similar rules in the town of Seaville is flawed in nature which are discussed as follows.

Firstly, is the population of Seaville and that of Balmer island similar during the summer months, when the tourist density is the highest? If so, where the frequency of moped rentals similar to the current frequency on Balmer island? If the number of tourists visting Balmer island is much more than that on Seaville then the aftereffect of the constraints imposed on the moped rentals may have a negative impact on the tourism industry of that area on the whole. For example, inadequacy of mopens to travel around the island may prove to be an impactful inconvenience to the overl experience of the tourists' holiday. On similar line of thought, the effect of the restrictions in Seaville should be research and evaluated. What was the tourists' measurement of satisfaction after limiting the the rental numbers? Dit it affect the number of returning visiters? If the influence of the rules enforced were negative, it is not advisable to the same on Balmer island.

Secondly, it is unreasonable to credit the limits on rentals to the total percent annual reduction in moped accidents. Were there other regulations that were put into action during the same time? If yes, then what were they and what was their impact on the traffic of Seaville? Do these regulations are already in play in Balmer Island or do they also have to be implemented? Even if there weren't any new policies established in Seaville, the existing traffic policies should be compared and their similarities should be calculated.

Lastly, the data on accidents should be collected for both the areas under consideration to be analyzed for patterns and trends. Were they similiar? Only if the they match to an acceptable degree, can the outcome of the proposed conclusion can be determined with certainty. Therefore, to validate the conclusion drawn by the passage is inheretly weak and unpredictable using the specified premises alone. The questions put forth in the above passages must be looked into to accurately conclude the aftermath of the proposed restriction.