Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument above comes to the conclusion that with the discovery of similar structure of baskets in the Lithos region that the 'Palean' baskets were not as unique as previously thought. The reason stated for the same is - the nature of the Brim River made it possible to cross it only by a boat, and Palean boats were not found in the Lithos village.

Although this might seem to be a premise from which the conclusion can be drawn, it in itself is inadequate to prove the same. There are several other factors and theories that must be evaluated to predict the accuracy of the inference from the passage. Firstly, the village of Palea should also not have any traces of boats. Presence of Palean boats in the village of Palea would serve as a tool to weaken the inference drawn by the passage, as it is very much possible for Paleans to travel to and fro between the villages with the help of the boat. It is also important to study the residents of Palea, their primary occupation, the most prominent leisure activities, etc. as they would also help in determining the possibility of them crossing the river without the help of the boat. For example, if the primary leisure activity turns out to be swimming or if fishing was one of the prominent occupations of the people of Palea, then they might have been excellent swimmers and capable of swimming for long duration of time. Moreover, the availability of the raw materials that were used to make these baskets in the village of Lithos must also be confirmed. The absence of these materials in Lithos and their abundance in Paleo would further question the conclusion stated in the argument.

Therefore, other possible explanations for the presence of these baskets in Lithos such as that stated above should be investigated. The conclusions that are interpreted from these explanations should also question the uniqueness of the baskets, only then can it be accurately concluded that the Palean baskets were not regional to the village of Palea.