The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given passage compares two real estate firms, Adams and Fitch, on the basis of statistical data and concludes that the former is a better option to sell a property sooner, and at a good price. The analysis has been performed on characteristics such as number of real estate agents, whether they work part-time or full time, average revenue generated and the amount of time taken by each of the firms to sell the house.

While they are valid parameters to test while looking for a firm to sell your house, these are just mathematical data whose underlying cause/contribution should be examined to come to an accurate decision. For example, the passage assumes that the efficiency of the firm is directly proportional to the number of employees (which may or may not be true) but measuring the overall efficiency of the firm would serve as a better judgement criteria. Similarly, even though the revenues generated by Adams is more than that of Fitch their profits of the former could be much lower than that of the latter. Let us assume that Adams and Fitch's revenues $2 million and $1 million (since Adams revenues was twice as Fitchs' as stated in the passage) sold 10 houses and Fitch sold 3; in this case, the average profit of Adams is $200,000 per house while that of Fitch would be $333,333. The assumption that higher revenue means better profit per each house is inherently flawed in nature.

Along the same lines of logic, instead of comparing the average sale price of the firms it is much wiser to compare the buy rate (the amount the customer bought the house) and the amount it was sold for. For example, if the house that costed $150,000 was sold for $168,00 by Adams and the house that costed $100,000 was sold for $144,000 by Fitch then it would mean that the customers of Fitch acquired a better price for their house than that of Adams, regardless of their annual revenue or the number of houses sold.

Lastly, the time taken by the firm to would not have a significant impact on the overall satisfaction on the customer if he/she earned a profit of $44,000 instead of just $18,000. Thus, the reasoning made by the passage for the conclusion serves a minor purpose in determining the correct firm to choose, it is inadequate. The assumptions made by the passage are weak, therefore, the above alternative clauses should be considered for evaluation.