The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author offers an intriguing proposal about how one of his or her friends sell his house in the best way possible. A quick reflection on this argument will make someone realize being rife of holes and assumptions, resting upon logical fallacious, poor reasoning, and referring to a limited sample to make sweeping generalization, the argument cannot be considered as a cogent case upon being assessed by careful scrutiny of the evidence. All these flaws invite questions whose answer will assist in providing a more credible support for the conclusion. Therefore, before this recommendation be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

is the number of agents and the time they spend in the office as an indicator of higher efficiency? building upon the assumption that it is so, the author suggests that Adam office is a more rational to be chosen by a costumer. Nonetheless, one should take into consideration that upon working full time, estate agents probably get bored and tired, and all these pressure will tax their mental agility, which adversely affect their efficiency as worker who has regular connection with people. On the other hand, a part time job may release more time for humans, which can be allocated to activities that makes the person more joyful and satisfied, leading to a more meticulous and hard-work person in the work times. Moreover, although the number of Fitch agents is fewer than Adam, it is probable that they are more qualified, who makes the results of the job better off. The author's argument about which one of these estates are superior is not persuasive, unless it provides more accurate information about their workers.

Secondly, is it logical to consider the higher income and average sales in a specific a representative for a more-efficient estate? The author naively assumes that Adam's estate is superior just because it earned more revenue with higher average sales price. The assumption is rife of holes. First of all, maybe Adam's revenue was higher just in last year and this may not be true for other years. also, the price of a house is determined by various factors, namely it's area, the quality of the building, it's equipment, and so forth, indicating the fact that the higher average sale price is not an indicator of efficiency of the estate. The author argument can be strengthen by gathering data about other years revenue and the houses that were sold.

finally, is it rational to draw a conclusion just by observing one case of the estate? The person, recommending Adam, claims that Adam's houses will be sold quickly, based on two houses, each on was sold one estate. Due to the limited scale of the data, it is illogical to generalize the results of the selling experience. Perhaps, that was an exemption for Fitch state, in which the case was sold too late. this claim can be assessed by considering a sizable chunks of the houses in both estates and compare the results. so that, it may be probable to make a more reliable and credible conclusion.

In the light of above-mentioned analysis, on can observe that although this argument seems appealing, is neither compelling nor convincing as it stands. if all these assumptions, both stated and unstated, which are basically questionable, were to prove right, then the drawn conclusion is arguably in harmony with the evidence. On the other hand, only if one of these unwarranted assumptions go wrong, which is highly arguable, will all the argument lose its reliability and as a consequence one will left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. if the author had backed up his or her points with the answers of the questions and included the items discussed above, then the argument would possibly have been more thorough and convincing. finally, in order to have a more efficient assessment, it would be both necessary and helpful for the data that have already mentioned by author to be accompanied with a more detailed explanatory documentation.