To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society and its characteristics can be influenced by various factors such as its population, flora and fauna, ethics, food, tradition and so much more. Major cities in any society contribute vastly to the above-mentioned characteristics. Therefore, in order to understand any societal structure, the obvious solution might seem to be to study these urban areas. However, there are various reasons along with necessary explanations that prove otherwise.

If you consider any major city that “represents” a society, for example, Mumbai; one would see that the majority of the population consists of immigrants from other cities and towns from the same country or otherwise. Thus, over a period of time (varies from place to place) the contemporary behavior and character of the society gets “polluted” by that of other societies resulting in a scenario that doesn’t quite resemble any society in particular. Moreover, many of these immigrants tend to visit their homes during major events that influence a society such as festivals and celebrations to spend time with their families. Therefore, studying small towns and villages might prove to be more fruitful in acquiring accurate information about the characteristics of a society.

Most of the population constituting these towns happen to be early residents who have been living there for decades or even generations. These families maintain the integrity and originality of the major characteristics of their society. Every factor such as food, clothing, festivals, traditions, ethics and cultural beliefs are meticulously followed by them. In towns like these, where there is a small but accurate representation of the society one can observe behavior that are more tuned towards accurate data both in internal characteristics (such as superstitions, beliefs, etc.) as well as external characteristics (such as the agricultural practices).

In conclusion, small towns prove to be a better representation of society. Therefore, to understand the most important characteristics of a society it is more advantageous to study these towns rather than the major cities that constitute the area.