To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a well-known fact that population in major cities is far greater than rural areas. With this vast population comes various lifestyles and culture. The prompt suggests that the characteristics of a society can be found out by studying the cosmopolitan region. In my opinion, the prompt is not entirely true as most of the cultural and traditional roots will be associated with a countries rural regions for the following few reasons.

To begin with, the population growth is increasing rapidly at an unpredictable rate. Vast majority of today’s populace prefer to live in these metropolitan cities which play a crucial role in development software industry. Due to the industrialization many foreigners who are alien to the local culture move from their homeland and settle in the major cities. To accommodate these foreigners, government tries to adapt and therefore resulting in deviation from their traditional roots.

Secondly, the countries cultural heritage and traditions can be best described by the stone carvings, temples and cultural sites which provide information about the religion, linguistics and traditions of the local denizens. It is more likely that the people residing in rural areas abide by their traditions and not the people in the metropolitan cities where they are continuously influenced by a different culture. For instance, Charminar, a monument in a rustic locality provides more information about the history of the Mughal rulers than any museum in the major cities.

Thirdly, with growing influence of technology and urbanization several cultural heritage sites are being demolished to provide space for the development of factories. These primary sites provide information about the countries ancient civilization which was never recorded in history books. For instance, Golconda in TamilNadu, a cultural heritage site was destroyed to make more room for the adjacent Cognizant software industries.

In conclusion, many cultural heritage sites are being replaced by modern industries. Hence in determining the cultural roots of a locality the study of rural areas should be given highest priority