"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

With growing increase in respect for popularity and riches, people are getting greedy. The corporations are the paragon of being avarice. The prompt suggests that in order to increase profits, the corporations are hurting the general welfare of the nation. In my opinion, this recommendation is perfectly valid for three reasons discussed below.

Firstly, the aim of any non-profitable corporation or organization is to be at the apex in their respective fields. The corporations are often greedy and are indifferent towards public and therefore, towards their nation itself. For example, Volkswagen motors renowned for their comfortable and budget friendly cars have been recently accused of polluting the environment. The corporation installed a secret microchip into the exhaust of the car thereby when inspected the pollution caused by the automobile seems under limits. In fact, it was demonstrated that these vehicles where not only responsible for the increase in pollution but also released some detrimental gases into the atmosphere like carbon dioxide, carbon mono-oxide and sulphurous gases.

Secondly, due to the growing competition in the society the corporations are keenly interested in backdoors which will increase the turn-over of the company. The corporations try to attract wide range of consumers by limiting the price of goods which affects the manufacturing process indirectly. For instance, Maggi a product of famous noddle making company Nestle has been banned in India and several other countries. It was later revealed that in order to attract more consumers the company decided to use lead as an ingredient in the noodles which when consumed is life threatning.

Thirdly, the corporations provide employment to the upper and lower middle people of the society with minimum wages. They force their employees to work for ten hours a day with wages barely sufficient to feed three or four members in a family. The employees are not given proper healthcare or any incentives some of which are mandatory. To illustrate the above statement let’s consider Amazon delivery services. This corporation has been found guilty for not paying their employees even a minimum wage. The multi-national company has been charged with two billion pounds. This is the perfect example how companies take advantage of the naive public.

In conclusion, the critics often respond to these allegations obliquely referring to the quality products and increase in the employment due to these corporations. But these remarks do not match the harm the corporations have inflicted on people. It is therefore necessary to take certain severe action against these companies when found guilty of crime.