The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter provides a comparison between two leading real estate firms present in the author’s town: Adams Realty and Fitch Realty. The author concludes that out of the two firms, Adams Reality is superior. The author also asserts that if one wants to sell his or her home quickly and at a good price, he or she should consider using Adams Realty. The author’s conclusion is questionable and based on certain assumptions. In order to strengthen the author’s opinion, those arguments need to be substantiated.

To begin with, the author compares the number of workers in the two firms. Adams reality has 60 % greater number of real estate agents from Fitch Realty. The writer assumes that greater workforce of a firm implies better service for customers. But that assumption is flawed. There is no concrete evidence presented in support of the assumption in the reading. Also the writer mentions that there are many part-time workers among the real estate agents of Fitch Realty. There is no mention of part-time workers for Adams Realty. The writer should have mentioned that there are less part-time agents in Adams Realty than that of Fitch Realty. Even so, it will be a flawed assumption that greater the number of part time agent implies inferior service.

Secondly, the reading states that the revenue of Adams last year was twice the revenue of Fitch. In this case, the author assumes that better revenue signifies better service. The writer also mentions that the average value of home sales of Adams Realty is greater than that of Fitch Realty. In this respect, the writer assumes that better average price of homes implicates better opportunity for clients. The author fails to consider the fact that the prices of the homes sold by Adams may be sold under-priced compared to the homes sold by Fitch. The reading only considers the value at which the homes were sold which is superficial.

Lastly, the writer tries to extrapolate his own experience with the two firms to draw an inference applicable to the overall population of the town. According to the reading, one of the author’s houses while listed in Fitch took longer time to be sold compared to the author’s other house listed in Adams. The author assumes that whatever happened to him will hold true for others as well. He fails to consider various factors like location, accessibility to amenities, requirement of repairing etc. associated with a house on sell.

In sum, the conclusion of the author is dubious and based on assumptions which may not hold true. The reading fails to provide enough evidence or facts in support of the assumptions. Therefore without proper evidence to the assumptions made by the author, it is not advisable to take his conclusion into account while looking for selling a house in the town.