As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Will relying on technology result in less thinking ability in humans? While many beleive technology is detrimental for individual thinking ability of humans, some others assert that this is not the case. Personally, I completely disagree with that and contend that technology is not harmful to humans thinking ability for these reasons:

To begin, technology itself and day to day advancements of it show that people are actually thinking more and more. How would people who have less intellectual abilities than generations before them invent such sophisticated devices? Take mobilephones as an example, the daily advancements in the production of phones which have numerous complex features proves that human beings are, in fact using their brains more than anytime before.

Further, by using the technology that is invented by us, we can now think about solutions for our old problems, like how we can extend the lifespan of human beings. Technology has enabled us to rather than thinking about daily problems, focus on bigger problems which are much more crucial to us as an species. For example, humans have been able to extend life expectency from 50 years to 80 years in the last century. This would not have been possible if technology was deteroriating our ability to think for ourselves.

Next, It should be considered that technology itself, has brought new problems to solve. Today, we have some problems that were not peresent a 100 years ago, and we need to use our intellectual ability to solve these new problems. As an illustration, now we have to think about solving the traffic jams problem which are omnipresent in megacities. These modern-life problems are even more complex than the problems our ancestors used to have. We can observe that many people spend numerous years in schools and universities to gain enough knowledge to solve a very small part of our day to day problems now. So, technology has made, and will continue to make, new problems that need us to use our thinking abilities. With these problems around, we can be sure that athrophy will not happen to our intellectual ability.

Ultimately, it should be considered that some people might argue that we, humans, are now using our brains less as we rely on calculators for calculations, rely on microwave ovens for food preparations and even rely on smartphone calendars to remember our daily tasks. They might conclude that these are examples of technology harming our thinking ability. But it is not the case; Technology might has made such routine jobs easier for us, but it has not made us unable to think as we are inventing new devices, solving old problems and even solving new problems brought by these technologies everyday. Technology has not made us any less of thinkers we have always been.