Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is concluded that Palean baskets are not unique to the ancient village of Palea because they have also been found in another ancient village called Lithos. The fact that Lithos is located across the deep and broad Brim river while no boats have been found near Palea is presented as the . This conclusion cannot be drawn from the presented data unless following evidences are provided:

First, it should be presented that the Brim river have had the same depth and width at the time. Many rivers undergo changes in depth and width through the years. For example, maybe the water was so shallow that people could walk or easily swim at the time. Also, it is possible that the width of the river was not so broad and therefore it was possible to swim from one side to the other. In any of these instances, the argument is flawed.

Second, even if the river was in fact, as broad and deep as it it now, evidence should be presented to show that if Paleans were not able to make simple wooden bridges that were later destroyed through the years. Maybe people of villages across the river cut long trees and used them to pass the river. Maybe they used rope and wood to make simple bridges. If any of these is true, the argument does not hold water.

Third, evidence is needed to show that no major flood has happened in the area through these years. A flood is able to change the historical site to a great extent. For instance, what if boats were built and used in Palea but were later destroyed and gone with the flood? Or the flood itself, moved the basket from an area to the other. In any of these circumstances, the conclusion cannot be drawn.

After all is said and done, the current argument, without any additional data and evidences, is exttremely flawed. However, if requested evidences regarding the conditions of the Brim river at the time, abilities of villagers to make bridges ,and absense of major floods through the years are presented, a valid evaluation of the argument is possible.