Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.’

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is concluded that Omega univerisity should stop its procedure as to let students evaluate their professors, in order to help graduates find better jobs. It is stated that professors tend to assign higher grades ever since this procedure initiated and this has led to employers discourage to hire graduates of this university. However, this conclusion cannot be drawn without providing the following evidences.

First, it should be presented that increase in students' score is merely because professors assign higher grades, not that students actually deserve these higher marks. For example, it is possible that professors have become more concerned about the efficacy of their classes and hence, they have adopted new trends in teaching, like using online material, etc. and this has led to better education and ultimately, better grades. Also, it is possible that Omega university has used these data to hire more efficient professors and letting ineffective professors go. In any of these scenarios, the argument is weakened.

Next, even if implementing this new policy had this effect as to inflate graduates' marks, the evidence is needed to show that reversing the decision will change employers opinion and ultimately help student find better jobs. Maybe reversing this procedure now will result in lower graduate scores while employers have not change their idea, in this case students wil have even less opportunity to secure jobs. Or maybe nothing changes in students' gardes and university loses its tool for examination of professos' effectiveness only. In this case education will deterorate drastically and employers' opinion about the university will be even worse. If any of these circumstances are possible, argument is flawed.

Last, evidence is needed to prove that better luck of graduates from Alpha university is indeed, because of the university's reputaion only. For instance, maybe employers are more likely to hire Alpha graduates because there is a stronger relation between Alpha university and corporations and they are more familiar with Alpha university's students. Also, it is a possibility that students with higher abilities choose Alpha university in the first place, and therefore, when they graduate, they are better candidtaes automatically. In any of these cases, the graduates' ability to secure jobs will not differ after reversing the decision and therefore, this argument does not hold water.

All in all, the current arguemnt, without any additional data, is extremely flawed. Providng the evidences mentioned above will strengthen the argument and make a better evaluation of that possible.