The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article about the culture and the child-rearing of the Childerns in Tertia, Dr.Karp assert that based on some arguments their method is valid while the previous method by Dr. Feild is invalid. However Dr. Karp does not provide enough appealing evidence about his assertion.

In Dr. Feild methods, he indicates that they performed the research in the several islands that one of them is Tertia. However here in this article there is no information that Dr. Field's conclusion is a group average on all the islands or just the Tortia. To compare the two results, Dr. Karp should provide evidence that his conclusion is based on the unique and separate result just from Tertia island and is not affected by the other cultures.

Dr. Feild concluded that the children in Tortia are reared but the whole village rather than their biological parents. Dr. Karp assert that because the children were taking more about they biological parents the conclusion of Dr. Feild is wrong. Here, there should be an evidence that, the children were taking about what subjects exactly about their biological parents. It is possible that they were talking about the problems they have with their parents and they are appose to the actions of their parents. Plus, just talking about their parents, does not prove that the parent's actions and behavior are mirrored in their children. There should be another evidence, to show and link children taking about their parents to their routine actions otherwise this argument can be refuted.

Building upon the fact that Dr. Karp knows Dr. Feild's conclusion wrong, he also claims that their process which leaded to that conclusion is invalid as well. The observation- centered process, performed by Dr. Field might be still valid even though that the conclusion is not. Dr. Karp should provide evidence the procedure in which Dr. Feild reached that conclusion is performed correctly and analyze all the aspects of it. If proved that every steps is performed correctly then we can deduce the conclusion is invalid as well.

Also Dr. Karp's graduate students performed an interview-centered method to evaluate the child-rearing culture in the Turtia village. There should be evidence about the validity of the questions in the interview. If the questions, are only centered about the children's biological parent is it not surprising that they were talking more about them in the interviews. The valid interview should be impartial and disspationate to prove Dr. Karp's conclusion is indisputable.