The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this passage recommends that the Super screan movie production company should allocate more money to advertisement to reach the public. The auther gives this recommendation becasue he or she thinks that the reason the few people attended the Super Screan-produced movies is becasue of their lack of knowledge about the good reviews of the movies and the quality of them. However, this implication might be true but a several questions should be answered about the information given before the Super Screan company devotes more of its budget to advertisement.

Author indicates that based on a report from the marketing department, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. A question arise here that how many movies the company produced during the past year comparing to other years. If we were to learn that the company produced less movies in the past year it is reasonable that less people went to watch the movies and it cannot be relavent to the fact that they were unaware about the quality of the movies.

While holding the the assumption that fewer people watched the Super Screen movies in the past year, author asserts that the percentage of the positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific movies of the company increased as well, at this time. Here there is no report about the critics of the movies of the earlier years to be able to compare them logically. To evaluate this argument, we need to know that this percentage increased is about how many movies. There might very good reviews only about a couple of specific movies, becasue those few movies were more successfull from the reviewers point of view comparing to the movies in the other years. If this is true, it is still understandable that there has been few good movies but not plenty, so less people attended to watch the movies.

Building upon the fact that people are not aware of the content of positive reviews, author assumes that these information is not reaching to the people, thus the company needs to invest more in the advertisement. The very first question to ask here is that, is there any statistical report or the results of a survey availabe to prove this argument. People might be still have the same awareness about the reviews, but simply becasue the other reason explained above, fewer of them watched Super Screen's movies.

In general, author of this argument, should consider and answer all the questions provided above to reach a convincing reason for the Super Screen company to allocates more of its budget to advertisement.