The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The premise states that in stead of increased positive reviews on the super screen-produced movies, fewer people were reported to attended these movies in the past year than in any other year. So the statement concludes that, the quality of the movies does not lack, rather the dearth of knowledge of the viewers on the good quality movies is responsible for such situation. Though the claim looks logically pertinent, but to evaluate this three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the authenticity of the positive reviews need to be brought in question. The positive reviews may be biased or corrupted. It is highly possible that the reviewers were bribed to produce positive reviews about the movies on purpose although the quality of the movies are not truly up to the mark. If such is the case it is likely to have fewer audiences for the super screen-produces movies. Again, it is possible that the reviewers are not good critique of movies. The premise does not clarify if callow reviewers are writing positive reviews to get attention of public or the reviewers genuinely possess good insights of judgement. To evaluate the argument this fallacy need to be clarified.

Secondly, it is not cleared about the source of the recent report. It may be possible that people are actually attending to watch the super screen-produced movies, but the report based on the survey was performed on the weekday or on a day when it is less likely to have audiences in general. Another possible way is that, the survey was performed only in a certain area where people are not willing to watch much movies. The clarification about the source of the report is essential for evaluating the argument properly.

Lastly, the premise states that, positive reviews about specific movies increased during the past year. If these specific movies are few in number, and on the other hand a huge number of movies lack in quality, percentage of attendance of the movies may decrease as a whole. The passage does not say anything about the other movies which do not have positive reviews, or amount of people attending in either type of movies.

If the above stated questions are answered and proper evidences are shown, the argument can be evaluated with proper considerations.