The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of this passage recommends to allocate more time to weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and to prevent losing advertising revenues. Eventhough this suggestion might be true, but this argument is based on assumptions that they might not hold true and there is lack of evidence to prove them right.

The author suggests that because over the past year the late-night news devoted more time to national news rather than weather and local news, viewers complaint about the station's coverage of weather and local news. First of all, there is no evidence that the complaints of the viewer is specifically about the late-night news, and it can be an overall concern of the station's program during the day. Plus, the complaints might be because of the quality of the coverage of the weather and the local news not about its quantity and the time allocated to them, so that, eventhough the timing is less that the year before, but it might be adequate for the coverage of the local news. Plus it should be indicated that for what reason the station decided to decrease the timing of the local news and devoted more time to the national news, there might be other complaints from viewers about the coverage of the national news that here is not clear.

The other argument is that the local businesses who used to advertise during the late-night news program canceled their contracts. Here, the author does not provide any information about the reason that why the local businesses canceled their contracts and deduces that is because of the less timing of the local news. While this argument does not provide a cojent reason, there might be other reasons that caused the local businesses to cancel their contracts. For example, there should be supplementary information about the cost of the advertising on that time in the station, so that if the price raised during the past year, it could be the potential resason of the canceled contracts.

Finally author suggest to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewer. Here, there is no report about the number of the viewers from this year and the year before and if there is any drop in the percentage of the late-night news viewers. If there is a survey that indicates there is drop in the number of the viewers, it might strengthen the argument but otherwise this argument is not convincing to allocate more time to the local news.